Newman University presents annual Ablah Awards

Bishop Gerber poses with Vice President for University President J.V. Johnston and his wife Veronica.

Two Newman University graduates of the class of 2011 have been named recipients of this year's Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah Awards. Denver Shipman of Wichita received the Harvey J. Ablah Award, and Margaret (Maggie) Di Silvestro of Leawood, Kan., received the Leona J. Ablah Award.

Denver Shipman

Denver Shipman

The awards are presented each year to a graduating male and a graduating female student who exemplify the spirit of Newman University. Each student receives a $2,500 award.

Ablah Award recipients are asked to identify someone who has been a mentor in their lives while at Newman University. Shipman selected Director of Science and Math Division John Leyba, Ph.D. Di Silvestro named Associate Professor of History Kelly McFall, Ph.D. as her mentor.

The Ablah Awards were established by Fran and Geri (Ablah) Jabara to honor the memory of Geri's parents Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah, and to perpetuate their vision of entrepreneurism and the American dream. The awards are presented annually to two students who are considered to exemplify the mission and spirit of Newman University, and who show great promise to make a strong and positive contribution to society. Award recipients must have completed at least 62 credit hours at Newman and graduate with a grade point average of 3.2 or higher.

Maggie Di Silvestro

Maggie Di Silvestro

About the author



Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.