Nominations open for 2020 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Nov 05, 2019
alumni awards

Newman University alumni make their alma mater proud each and every day.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are held annually to honor four alumni and one honorary alumna or alumnus for their Catholic service, achievements, service to humanity or leadership.

Nominations for these awards are being accepted through Sunday, Nov. 24, 2019.  

The awards are as follows:

The Maria De Mattias Award
Named for the foundress of the Adorers of the Blood of Christ, this award honors alumni who display a deep loyalty to Newman University, its mission of Catholic education and those who have given meritorious and continuous support and stewardship to Newman University and Catholic life.

The Leon A. McNeill Alumni Achievement Award
The award, named for the former president of Sacred Heart Junior College, honors an individual who has achieved outstanding success in personal or professional life through civic, intellectual or cultural pursuits, which bring credit to them and, in turn, to Newman University.

Beata Netemeyer Award
Named for the first provincial of the Adorers of the Blood of Christ, this award honors alumni who have given outstanding service to humanity, exemplifying the mission and values of Newman University in their personal and professional life.

Spirit of Acuto Award
This award is named for the area of Italy where St. Maria De Mattias began her ministries in the 1830s. The award recognizes alumni who are driven to respond to the needs of others, using their talent and training to move a vision to reality.

Honorary Alumni Award
To be selected, individuals must have either attended Newman but did not graduate, or have a history of involvement and loyalty with Newman University.

If you know of any alumni deserving of these awards, please nominate them today.