Ablah Award recipients celebrated at luncheon

Jun 20, 2012

Newman University 2012 recipients of the Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah Awards were celebrated at a June 14 luncheon hosted by Newman President Noreen M. Carrocci, Ph.D.

The awards are presented each year to a graduating male and a graduating female student. Each student receives a $2,500 award. For 2012, Nicholas Ojile of Andale, Kan., received the Harvey J. Ablah Award, and Bridget Boyum of Andover, Minn., received the Leona J. Ablah Award.

L-r, seated: Geri and Fran Jabara; standing: Charlotte Rorhbach, ASC, Bridget Boyum, Nicholas Ojile, and John Leyba, Ph.D.

Ablah Award recipients are asked to identify someone who has been a mentor in their lives while at Newman University. Ojile selected Science and Mathematics Division Chair John Leyba, Ph.D. Boyum named Director of Mission and Archives Charlotte Rohrbach, ASC as her mentor. Award recipients and their mentors attended the luncheon, along with Carrocci, Newman Provost Mike Austin, Ph.D., and award benefactors Fran and Geri (Ablah) Jabara.

The Ablah Awards were established by the Jabaras to honor the memory of Geri’s parents Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah, and to perpetuate their vision of entrepreneurism and the American dream. The awards are presented annually to two students who are considered to exemplify the mission and spirit of Newman University, and who show great promise to make a strong and positive contribution to society. Award recipients must have completed at least 62 credit hours at Newman and graduate with a grade point average of 3.2 or higher.

Every year, a plaque is cast honoring each Ablah Award recipient that depicts the student and his or her mentor. The plaques are displayed on the second floor of the Gorges Atrium on the Newman campus.