Bryan, Stanley Receive Prestigious Student Awards

May 15, 2008

Newman University graduates Daniel Bryan and Amanda Stanley are the 2008 recipients of the Ablah Awards. Bryan, of Tulsa, Okla., is the recipient of the 2008 Harvey J. Ablah Award, and Stanley, of Goddard, Kan., is the recipient of the 2008 Leona J. Ablah Award.

The Ablah Awards are presented annually to a graduating male and a graduating female student who exemplify the spirit of Newman University, and show great promise to make a strong and positive contribution to society. The awards were established by Fran and Geri (Ablah) Jabara to honor the memory of Geri’s parents Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah, and to perpetuate their vision of entrepreneurism and the American dream. Each recipient receives a $2,500 award. Each year, Ablah Award recipients are asked to identify someone who has been a mentor in their lives while at Newman. A plaque bearing the image of the student and his or her mentor is then placed with the display of previous years’ award recipients in the Gorges Atrium. Congratulations!