Nursing Pinning Ceremony celebrates fall 2019 candidates

Dec 19, 2019
Newman University Nursing Program

Newman University recognized 17 candidates for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree during the fall 2019 nursing pinning ceremony held Dec. 13 in the De Mattias Fine Arts Center Performance Hall.

The traditional event is celebrated at the end of each semester and allows for nursing candidates to receive their Newman University nursing pins, recognizing their completion of the BSN program.

The Newman pin is unique to the university and was designed by the first graduating BSN class in 1984 at what was then Kansas Newman College. Nursing pinning ceremonies date back more than 130 years in the United States.

President Noreen M. Carrocci, Ph.D., addressed the candidates and their families and friends before the pinning took place.

Carrocci, who is retiring at the end of the year, said the pinning marked her 32nd nursing pinning ceremony, 24 of which were at Newman. She said the pinning ceremony is one of her favorite things to do at Newman.

She addressed the fall class, saying, “Every class is different. Because of the way you train together, you form your own unique and special bond that no other class will ever have. And I think that’s really special.”

She added special congratulations to each candidate as all 17 have jobs or job offers as they complete their time at Newman.

The ceremony also included the naming of the Distinguished BSN Graduate Award.

The award is given to a graduating nursing student who has a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average and demonstrates an exceptional commitment to the nursing profession and involvement in the Newman and greater Wichita communities.

There were two graduates named from the fall 2019 class. Kaylee Jenkins from Wellington, Kansas, and Erin Schueller from Wichita, Kansas were both bestowed the fall 2019 Distinguished BSN Graduate award.

Jenkins has been active in the School of Nursing as a member of Nursing Club, a mentor to first-year students, attending Nursing Christian Fellowship meetings and her induction into Sigma Theta Tau.

She is also highly involved with her church, teaching Sunday school and summer vacation Bible school and helping elderly church members with transportation and household chores.

Jenkins said, “I’m honored that those who chose me to receive this award recognized my hard work and dedication to the nursing profession. This award is something I will cherish for years to come.”

BSN Distinguished Graduates
(l to r) Noreen M. Carrocci, Ph.D., Kaylee Jenkins, Erin Schueller and Teresa Vetter, director of nursing.

Schueller was a “direct admit” nursing student, which means she was admitted to the program as a senior in high school. She has been an Adorers of the Blood of Christ Community Leader, Campus Activity Board member, a Traditions and Transitions facilitator, a nurse student mentor, and was also involved in Nursing Club and Nursing Christian Fellowship. She also volunteers within the community in numerous ways.

Schueller said, “I am so excited to receive this honor along with my fellow classmate. This means so much to me as I have worked so hard in maintaining my community involvement over the past 3 1/2 years at multiple organizations throughout Wichita.”

She said the nursing school journey has been difficult and this award validates her and Jenkins’ efforts and perseverance.

She added, “But this could not have been achieved without the love and support from our families, friends and all those who have walked beside us.”

2019 Fall Nursing Class
The fall 2019 nursing class (from l to r): (front row) Molly (Lee) Poettker, Erin Schueller, Lauren Keith, Bayley Horsch, Aspen Herzberg, Kaylee Jenkins, Heather Kerschen, Marisol Larin and Alondra Romo. (back row) Desmond Martinez, Laura Salcedo, Jared Borger, Jake Stramel, Breanna Tran, Haley Hayes and Kodjo Edoh. Not pictured: Julia “Shelley” Walker.

The Newman University BSN candidates for fall 2019 are:

  • Jared Borger – Wichita, KS
  • Kodjo Edoh – Boise, ID
  • Haley Hayes – Mulvane, KS
  • Aspen Herzberg – Wichita, KS
  • Bayley Horsch – Andale, KS
  • Kaylee Jenkins * – Wellington, KS
  • Lauren Keith – Wichita, KS
  • Heather Kerschen – Cunningham, KS
  • Marisol Larin * – Wichita, KS
  • Molly (Lee) Poettker * – Mulvane, KS
  • Desmond Martinez – Wichita, KS
  • Alondra Romo – Dodge City, KS
  • Laura Salcedo – Wichita, KS
  • Erin Schueller – Wichita, KS
  • Jacob Stramel – Allen, TX
  • Breanna Tran – Wichita, KS
  • Julia “Shelley” Walker – Valley Center, KS

*Indicates Sigma Theta Tau inductee