Investigative science program concludes

Jul 02, 2015

The 26th Newman University Investigative Summer Science Program concluded on June 26. The 2015 ISSP included 25 students from 16 different high schools.

The completion of the ISSP left students with a Newman University on-campus experience, two hours of college credit, a certification of completion from ISSP Director Associate Professor of Biology Stacy Jones, Ph.D., and fond memories to last a lifetime.

Throughout the final week, students finished up five different research topics to present on the last Thursday of the program. The presentations had two facets: an informative presentation and a five-minute creative component.

This year’s ISSP was generously sponsored by the Fred and Mary Koch Foundation.

The Fred and Mary Koch Foundation has donated $10,000 to support the ISSP every year since 1997. For the 2015 ISSP, however, the foundation graciously doubled the donation to $20,000.

In addition to the financial support, Koch Industries provided a tour for ISSP students of the Flint Hills Resources labs and facilities. ISSP students, the program’s faculty and the university voiced thanks for Koch’s generosity, which made the program very enjoyable and successful.

The 2015 ISSP participants are listed below by high school.

Click here to view a slideshow of the 2015 ISSP. To visit the ISSP Facebook page click here.

Watch this video about the 2015 ISSP.

2015 ISSP Participants:

Blue Valley North High School (Overland Park, Kan.)
Vinamratha Rao

Cheney High School (Cheney, Kan.)
Logan Maxwell Nuessen

Derby High School (Derby, Kan.)
Ashley Breann Blobner
Taylor Nickel

East High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Marisa Zavat

ELL-Saline High School (Brookville, Kan.)
Emily Wagner

Hayden Catholic High School (Topeka, Kan.)
Andrea Wickstrum

Girard High School (Girard, Kan.)
Madison Hey

Moundridge High School (Moundridge, Kan.)
Shantel Marie Schmidt

North High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Kylie Dominick
Adan A. Navejas Gallegos
Cherrianna Meneses

Northwest High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Megan Mae Holder
Cheyanne Alicia Sanders

Pope John Paul II High School (Lacey, Wash.)
Ross Brooker

St. James Academy (Lenexa, Kan.)
Bridgette Kathleen Dwyer
Issabelle Ellington
Justin Nguyan
Grace Schippers

Shawnee Mission West High School (Overland Park, Kan.)
Alexis Allen

South High School (Wichita, Kan.)
Brenda Duran-Brambila
Brenda Duran-Jimenez
Hunter Owsley

Sunrise Christian Academy (Wichita, Kan.)
Dan Tha Thangi

Trinity Academy (Wichita, Kan.)
Lexi G. Ryan