Jetspys recognize stand-out performances and Newman athletes

May 04, 2023
2023 Jetspys

Newman University held its 2023 Jetspys Awards to celebrate achievements of its talented athletes and teams over the course of the 2022-23 sports season. The university’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) organized and hosted the awards held in Fugate Gymnasium.

With members of the university community, as well as sports enthusiasts, in attendance, the ceremony kicked off with the presentation of the Comeback Athlete of the Year award to Colby Wilson of the baseball team. Wilson faced setbacks but showed outstanding resilience in overcoming them. Jack Kiser, another member of the baseball team, was presented with the Breakthrough Athlete of the Year award for his excellent debut season performance.

One of the highlights of the season went to the women’s basketball team, who secured their first-ever MIAA tournament berth with a historic victory against the University of Central Oklahoma. This hard-fought win earned them both the Game of the Year award and the 360 Turnaround Team award for their incredible transformation in the past year.

Other well-deserved awards presented throughout the ceremony included the Special Ops Award, won by Sister Therese Wetta, ASC, for her invaluable support to Newman University athletes. Additionally, the Supporting Role award was presented to trainer Noah Rogers, who went above and beyond for the athletes consistently.

The list of winners continues with the Maverick and Top Gun awards, which were awarded to Zach Boh from the bowling team and Lucy Mwangi from the cheer and dance squad, respectively. Hayden vanDePol from the baseball team and Caroline Williams from the cross country team earned the Top Gun awards. Meanwhile, Chase Wiebe and Amaya Perez from the basketball team received the Wingman awards.

Sam Somerhalder from men’s basketball and Lani Birckbichler from women’s soccer won the Male and Female Rookies of the Year awards. Eli Wohl from the baseball team and Maddie Spagnola from the basketball team were both named Game Changers for their significant contributions during the year.

Noah Akiona from the men’s bowling team achieved the Performance of the Year award for his perfect 300 at the SWIBC 6 event. The Best of the Best awards honored the remarkable achievements of the university’s baseball and basketball teams, with Jenner Steele and Britney Ho named Male and Female Athletes of the Year for their outstanding contributions.

Finally, the highest honors of the ceremony, the Mr. and Ms. Jet awards, went to Ian Lecki from the baseball team and Lauren Esfeld from the tennis team, respectively.

The Newman community was proud to celebrate the accomplishments of its students and coaches, highlighting the power of collaboration and dedication to reach new heights.

2023 Jetspy’s Winners

Comeback Athlete of the Year – Colby Wilson – Baseball

Game of the Year – Women’s Basketball win over UCO to clinch first-ever MIAA tournament berth

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year – Jack Kiser – Baseball

Special Ops Award – Sister Therese Wetta, ASC

360 Turnaround Team – Women’s Basketball

Community Outreach – Women’s Soccer

Wingman – Male – Chase Wiebe – Basketball

Wingman – Female – Amaya Perez – Basketball

Male Rookie of the Year – Sam Somerhalder – Basketball

Female Rookie of the Year – Lani Birckbichler – Soccer

Game Changer – Male – Eli Wohl – Baseball

Game Change – Female – Maddie Spagnola – Basketball

Performance of the Year – Noah Akiona (Men’s Bowling) Perfect 300 game at the SWIBC 6

Supporting Role – Noah Rogers – Trainer

Top Gun – Male – Hayden vanDePol – Baseball

Top Gun – Female – Caroline Williams – Cross Country

Maverick – Male – Zach Boh – Bowling

Maverick – Female – Lucy Mwangi – Cheer and Dance

Best of the Best – Male – Baseball

Best of the Best – Female – Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year – Jenner Steele – Baseball

Female Athlete of the Year – Britney Ho – Basketball

Mr. Jet – Ian Lecki – Baseball

Ms. Jet – Lauren Esfeld – Tennis

Submit your story idea

Know of a student, alum, faculty or staff member who should be highlighted in the next Newman Today story?