Newman and WBJ Recognize Area’s Business Leaders

Dec 03, 2009

Newman University and the Wichita Business Journal have partnered again to recognize the 2009 Yearbook Honorees in business for the Wichita metro area. These 12 people have been selected by the Journal for making a significant impact in the Wichita business community over the past year. A come and go reception will be offered from 5 to 7 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 3, with a short recognition ceremony taking place from 6 to 6:30 p.m. The event will be held at the Dugan-Gorges Conference Center in the Dugan Library and Campus Center at Newman University. The event is free and open to the public to stop by and congratulate the 2009 honorees.

Newman congratulates these outstanding business leaders and is especially proud of Tom Dondlinger, a Newman grad.

    2009 Yearbook Honorees

    Tom Dondlinger, president, Dondlinger & Sons Inc. Construction
    Jeff Fluhr, president, Wichita Downtown Development Corporation
    Joseph Galichia, founder, Galichia Medical Group PA
    Ron Holt, assistant Sedgwick County manager
    Mark Hutton, president, Hutton Construction
    Kim Janzen, president, CEO, Kansas Humane Society
    Phil Ruffin, Wichita entrepreneur, owner, Treasure Island Hotel and Casino
    Bill Simon, president, Freddy’s Frozen Custard and Steakburgers
    Don Slawson, president, CEO, Slawson Commercial Properties
    Beth Tully, founder and owner, Cocoa Dolce Artisan Chocolates
    Jeff Turner, president, CEO, Spirit AeroSystems Inc.
    Nestor Weigand, chairman, J.P. Weigand & Sons Inc.