Newman recognizes employees with service, staff excellence awards

Aug 28, 2014

Congratulations to all those who were honored for their years of service to Newman University during the annual Faculty and Staff Appreciation Luncheon on Aug. 18. The program celebrates long-term commitment to Newman by faculty and staff with five or more years of service, at five-year milestones.

In addition to the service awards, Director of Security Richard “Ollie” Oliverson received the Staff Excellence Award. The Staff Excellence Award was created to recognize an individual staff member who exemplifies the qualities representative of the people who serve and support students, faculty and other staff.

This year’s service award recipients and number of years at the university are listed below.

5 Years

  • Michael Bradley – Associate Professor of Biology
  • Barbara Casados – Administrative Assistant – School of Social Work, Colorado Springs
  • Ben Juhnke – Technical Director/Designer
  • Karen Noel – Administrative Assistant – Social Work and Social Sciences
  • Joanna Pryor – Assistant Athletic Director/Compliance Coordinator
  • Teresa Raehpour – Director of Adult and Continuing Studies
  • Vic Trilli – Director of Athletics

10 Years

  • Shella Augspurger – Head Tennis Coach
  • Sonja Bontrager – Assistant Professor of Spanish
  • Ashley Cheever – Accounts Payable Clerk
  • Debbie Edens – Senior Administrative Assistant to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Nancy Finch Folkerts – Administrative Assistant – Western Kansas Center
  • Christopher Fox – Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Max Frazier – Associate Professor of Secondary Education
  • Steve Hamersky – Director of Library Services
  • Sharon Niemann – Assistant Professor and Director of the CRNA Program
  • Matt Roulston – Custodian
  • Donna Vierthaler – Assistant Director and Clinical Director of the CRNA Program
  • Vicki Bergkamp, ASC – Professor of Business

15 Years

  • Tracy McGarey – Executive Assistant to the President
  • Darrin McKim – Head Groundskeeper
  • Rosemary Niedens – Associate Vice President of Academic Services and Student Development
  • Barbara Sponsel – Associate Professor of Mathematics
  • Icer Vaughan – Chief Information Officer

20 Years

  • JoAnn Mark, ASC – Director of Institutional Research and Transfer Activities
  • George Smith III – Associate Professor of Accountancy
  • Gregory Smith – Professor of Psychology

25 Years

  • Ted Fox – Assistant Director of Maintenance

30 Years

  • Gail Gettman – Accounts Receivable Clerk