Newman University celebrates Ablah Awards recipients at luncheon

May 30, 2013

Newman University Spring 2013 graduates Adrienne Fox and Brice Albert were honored at a May 24 luncheon at the university hosted by Newman President Noreen M. Carrocci, Ph.D. Fox and Albert, both of Colwich, Kan., received the 2013 Leona J. Ablah Award and Harvey J. Ablah Award, respectively, which are presented each year to a graduating male and female student who exemplify the spirit of Newman. Each student receives a $2,500 award.

Ablah Award recipients are asked to identify someone who has been a mentor in their lives while at Newman University. Both Fox and Albert selected Chemistry Professor and Chair of the Science and Math Division John Leyba, Ph.D.

The award recipients and their mentor attended the May 24 luncheon, along with Carrocci and award benefactors Fran and Geri (Ablah) Jabara.

The Ablah Awards were established by the Jabaras to honor the memory of Geri’s parents Harvey J. and Leona J. Ablah, and to perpetuate their vision of entrepreneurism and the American dream. The awards are presented annually to two students who are considered to exemplify the mission and spirit of Newman University, and who show great promise to make a strong and positive contribution to society. Award recipients must have completed at least 62 credit hours at Newman and graduate with a grade point average of 3.2 or higher.

Attending the Spring 2013 Ablah Awards luncheon were, l-r, seated: Fran and Geri (Ablah) Jabara; standing: Adrienne Fox, John Leyba, Ph.D., Brice Albert, and Newman President Noreen M. Carrocci, Ph.D.