Newman University honors students of Investigative Summer Science Program

Jun 25, 2013

Twenty students from 13 different high schools in Kansas and Nebraska gathered with science professors, administrators, and parents at a recent luncheon to celebrate the students’ completion of the Newman University Investigative Summer Science Program (ISSP). The program, now in its 24th year, is designed to give students a taste of college-level research and explore the benefits of careers in the sciences.

Newman University and the Fred C. & Mary R. Koch Foundation sponsored this year’s program.

Participants in the 2013 ISSP program were, l-r, seated; Sophie Blackburn; Bethany Herl; Guillermo Perez; Jacob Kloth, Cheyenne Schwab; standing: Sarah Heady; Sanjidah Ahmed; Madison Smith; Sara Crook; Parth Khare; Angela Baalmann; Katie Detmer; Max Vandenhul; Oleksandra Pashchenko; John Hey; Rachel Fernandes; Sharad Richardet; Jennifer Mattar; Steven Lu, Alexandra Battitori.

The Newman ISSP is directed by Newman Professor of Biology Surendra Singh, Ph.D., who created the program in response to a national concern about the diminishing number of young people pursuing careers in the sciences. Using a hands-on approach and drawing from the support of Newman science professors and Wichita area science professionals, the program is designed to offer students a look at the real world of scientific research.

Students choose a research topic from a provided list upon entering the two week program. They then follow established research methods: performing a literature search; conducting experiments; analyzing data; drawing conclusions, and presenting findings in a written paper. The students are also encouraged to enter their papers at the annual meeting of the Kansas Junior Academy of Science.

Students receive room and board and two hours of Newman college credit for completing the program.

Sophomore, junior and senior high school students with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and one completed high school science course are selected for the ISSP through an application process, which considers their high school transcript, a letter of recommendation, and a 200-word essay explaining their career goals and why they should be admitted to the ISSP.

For more information about the ISSP program, contact Singh at 316-942-4291, ext. 2117, or via e-mail at [email protected]

This year’s program drew students from high schools in Andale, Andover, Erie, Girard, Overland Park, Palco, Quinter, and Wichita, Kan., and from Walton, Neb.

2013 ISSP participants are listed by hometown below:

Andale, Kan.:
Angela Baalmann (Andale H.S.)

Andover, Kan.:
Guillermo Perez (Andover Central H.S.)
Sharad Richardet (Andover Central H.S.)

Erie, Kan.:
Oleksandra Pashchenko (Erie H.S.)

Girard, Kan.:
Alexandra Battitori (Girard H.S.)
John Hey (Girard H.S.)

Overland Park, Kan.:
Madison Smith (Blue Valley Northwest H.S.)

Palco, Kan.:
Cheyenne Schwab (Palco H.S.)

Quinter, Kan.:
Bethany Herl (Quinter H.S.)

Wichita, Kan.:
Sanjidah Ahmed (Wichita Collegiate School)
Sophie Blackburn (Wichita Collegiate School)
Sara Crook (Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic H.S.)
Katie Detmer (Bishop Carroll Catholic H.S.)
Rachel Fernandes (Wichita Collegiate School)
Sarah Heady (Wichita Collegiate School)
Parth Khare (Wichita Collegiate School)
Jacob Kloth (Trinity Academy)
Steven Lu (Wichita Northeast Magnet H.S.)
Jennifer Mattar (Wichita Collegiate School)

Walton, Neb.:
Max Vandenhul (Lincoln Pius X H.S.)