Newman University honors graduating nurses at pinning ceremony

May 14, 2012

Newman University recognized 24 candidates for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree at the annual Nurses’ Pinning ceremony held May 11, 2012 on the Newman campus.

The event is a tradition in the nursing discipline that dates back approximately 130 years in the United States. At Newman, Bernadette Fetterolf, Ph.D., director of the School of Nursing and Allied Health, places nursing pins on graduate candidates’ lapels as a symbol of their completion of the baccalaureate of science in nursing (BSN) program. The Newman pin is unique to the university, and was designed by the first graduating BSN class at what was then Kansas Newman College.

“You are entering nursing at a time of great change in health care,” Fetterolf said to graduates in prepared remarks. “A recent survey conducted by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation asked current health care leaders in practice, academia, and reimbursement how much influence they thought nurses should have in national health care reform. Ninety-two percent believed that nurses could greatly impact reduction of medical errors, increase the quality of care, promote wellness, improve system efficiency, and reduce costs.

“Challenges you will encounter in areas you have not ventured before, although daunting, will bring opportunities to make a difference,” she added. “Leadership opportunities will exist for you from the bedside to the boardroom. Don’t be scared to step up to these challenges – you have much potential.”

The ceremony concluded with the naming of the Distinguished BSN Graduate Award. The award is given to a graduating nursing student who has a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average and demonstrates an exceptional commitment to the nursing profession and involvement in the Newman and greater Wichita communities. The Spring 2012 award was bestowed upon Meghan Jost of Hillsboro, Kan., and Jeffery Knisley of Wichita.

Jeffery Knisley of Wichita, Kan., and Meghan Jost of Hillsboro, Kan., received the Spring 2012 Distinguished Nursing Award during the Newman University Nurses Pinning ceremony May 11, 2012. With Knisley and Jost is NU Director of the School of Nursing and Allied Health Bernadette Fetterolf, Ph.D.

This year’s event also included the bestowal of a new award called The Preceptor Award. The Preceptor is designed to honor an area Registered Nurse who has worked with Newman students in the clinical setting, and who actively engages in student learning, is an excellent role model, and who demonstrates excellence in teaching. Candidates for the award are nominated by the students. This year’s award went to April Lawson, an RN in the Via Christi Health system.

The BSN graduates for Spring and Summer 2012 are:

Abilene, Kan.
Megan Barbur*

Belle Plaine, Kan.
Bridget Frank

Colwich, Kan.
Kathryn Eck
Nicholas Kraus*

Garden Plain, Kan.
Ruth Fisher

Haysville, Kan.
Sarah Logan*

Hillsboro, Kan.
Meghan Jost*

Maize, Kan.
Stephanie Maes*

Mount Hope, Kan.
Amanda Curtis*
Misty Martin

Park City, Kan.
Nickolas Newell

Valley Center, Kan.
Jessica Ward

Wichita, Kan.
Amanda Baalman
Jessica Glock
Jacqueline Hancock
Jeffery Knisley*
Kelly Mellinger
Crystal Moore*
Yen Nguyen
Catherine Parnell
Megan Rassel
Margaret Rogers*
Vicki Tran
Catherine (Troung) Kim*

* denotes Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honor Society inductee