Newman University honors nursing degree candidates

Dec 20, 2012

Newman University recognized 24 candidates for the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree at the annual Nurses’ Pinning ceremony held Dec. 14 on the Newman campus.

The event is a tradition in the nursing discipline that dates back approximately 130 years in the United States. At Newman, the director of the School of Nursing and Allied Health places nursing pins on graduate candidates’ lapels as a symbol of their completion of the baccalaureate of science in nursing (BSN) program. The Newman pin is unique to the university, and was designed by the first graduating BSN class at what was then Kansas Newman College.

The ceremony included a brief address by Director of the Newman School of Nursing and Allied Health Bernadette Fetterolf, Ph.D. Fetterolf. She encouraged the nursing graduates to further develop their internal compass to point “true north” in order to effectively lead and adapt to the changes in healthcare.

“Each of you possesses personal power at the bedside to bring about change in the quality and direction of patient care. Refer to your compass for the principles and values you have gained and developed in your education to make the choices that will bring about true transformation,” Fetterolf said. “Work in collaboration with others across all healthcare disciplines to influence the direction of change. Stay politically aware and active to influence policy.”

The ceremony concluded with the naming of the Distinguished BSN Graduate Award. The award is given to a graduating nursing student who has a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average and demonstrates an exceptional commitment to the nursing profession and involvement in the Newman and greater Wichita communities. The Fall 2012 award was bestowed upon Susan Delap of Wichita. Delap is a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International nursing honor society, and was involved in many on-and off-campus activities.



The BSN candidates for Fall 2011 are:


Clearwater, Kansas
Peggy Klausmeyer, Megan Mills*, Catherine Oliver

El Dorado, Kansas
Tracey Morse

Medicine Lodge, Kansas
Lauren Ransom

Park City, Kansas
Amanda Thompson*

Whitewater, Kansas
Brittany Corona

Wichita, Kansas
Allison Aday*, Kalynne Alloway, Luisa Ballester, Susan Delap*, Angela Follin, Natalie Hertzel*, Lauren Hesse*, Jordan Kohl, Krystal Lembke*, Becky Meister*, Katie Morgan, Sharon Nelson, Paige Pond, Katherine Prieksat*, Natalie Rose-Daley, Kimberlinh Son, Suzanne Wallaker

* Denotes member Sigma Theta Tau International nursing honor society