Newman University honors participants in Native American Scholar Program

May 09, 2012

Newman University honored 13 Native American students from six high schools in the Wichita area at a recent banquet for their participation in a program designed to keep them in school and consider a career in the sciences.

The semester-long program, called the Newman Native American Scholar Program (NNASP), is designed to encourage Native American students to stay in high school and to pursue higher education by making learning a fun and rewarding experience. The program is offered primarily to Wichita and Sedgwick County Native American high school sophomores, juniors and seniors, and is designed to strengthen students’ pre-college science, mathematics and English skills.

“The dropout rate for Native Americans is the highest compared to any other racial or ethnic group,” said Newman Professor of Biology and NNASP Director Surendra Singh, Ph.D. “This program is designed to plant dreams of higher education and ultimately a successful career for participants by showing them the need and opportunities for Native Americans in science and health professions.”

Participants in the 2012 Newman University Native American Scholars Program included, l-r, front row: Stephani Getsay; Terra Getsay; Tylon Turnetine; Shanya Flanigan, Mercedes Huff; back row: Tre'Aun Garnes; Nicholas Gallegos; Angelina Banks; Rhonda Kates; Jessica Washee; Aujanae McCoy; Alana Glover, Joe Stevens.

During the semester, each student selected an individualized project in the biological, health or physical sciences, then conducted a literature search, performed laboratory and field experiments, collected data, analyzed results, drew conclusions and wrote a paper in a scientific format. Students were also encouraged to present their papers at the annual Kansas Junior Academy of Science meeting. The class met for two hours each week and included instruction and supervision by Singh as well as other members of the Newman faculty and guest lecturers.

Newman University waived the $1,392 tuition, and program recipients received a $100 academic stipend and an identification card giving them library privileges and free admittance to Newman extra-curricular events. Students also received two hours of college credit. The NNASP is sponsored by Newman and supported by a grant from the Wichita Public Schools.

For more information about the program, contact Singh at 316-942-4291, ext. 2117 or Toll-Free 877-NEWMANU (639-6268), ext. 2117 or [email protected]

Participants of the 2012 Newman Native American Scholar Program are listed below, by high school.

Wichita East High School
Shanya Flanigan
Stephani Getsay
Terra Getsay
Tylon Turnetine

Wichita Northeast Magnet High School
Alana Glover
Aujanae McCoy
Rhonda Kates
Jessica Washee

Wichita Northwest High School
Joe Stevens

Wichita Heights High School
Angelina Banks
Mercedes Huff

Wichita Southeast High School
Tre’Aun Garnes

Wichita West High School
Nicholas Gallegos