Newman University honors students of Investigative Summer Science Program

Jun 30, 2011

Twenty-two students from 17 different high schools gathered with science professors, administrators, students and parents at a recent luncheon to celebrate the students’ completion of the Newman University Investigative Summer Science Program (ISSP). The program, now in its 22nd year, is designed to give students a taste of college-level research and explore the benefits of careers in the sciences.

This year’s program was sponsored by Newman University, the Fred C. & Mary R. Koch Foundation, the Kansas Health Foundation, and the University of Kansas School of Medicine – Wichita.

2011 ISSP participants
Twenty-two students from 17 different high schools in Kansas and Colorado received hands-on research experience during the 2011 Investigative Summer Science Program conducted by Newman University in Wichita. Participants in the program were, (front row, l-r): Sierra Madrigal, Maize; Theo Kassebaum, Burdick; Shay Zimmerman, Eureka; Kristina Brown, El Dorado; Taylor Nicole Smith, Topeka; Georgette Cindy Lee Searan, Girard (middle row, l-r): Lauren Sinik, Wichita; Robert Blaine Schmeidler, Haysville; Summer Madrigal, Maize; Ashley Guhr, Valley Center; Ileana Cepeda, Wichita; Misha Nazir, Wichita; Dina Vu, Wichita; Austin Jacobson, Overland Park; John David Leyba, Colwich (back row, l-r): Bryce Platt, Horton; William Major, Arvada, Colo.; Sam Kline, Wichita; Marissa Neises, Wichita; Robert Scharping, Wichita; Tyler Shelby, Iola, Luke Smith, Topeka.

The Newman ISSP is directed by Newman Professor of Biology Surendra Singh, Ph.D., who created the program in response to a national concern about the diminishing number of young people pursuing careers in the sciences. Using a hands-on approach and drawing from the support of Newman science professors and Wichita area science professionals, the program is designed to offer students a look at the real world of scientific research. Students choose a research topic from a provided list upon entering the program. They then follow established research methods: performing a literature search; conducting experiments; analyzing data; drawing conclusions, and presenting findings in a written paper. The students are also encouraged to enter their papers at the annual meeting of the Kansas Junior Academy of Science.

Students receive room and board and two hours of Newman college credit for completing the program. Participating students are also eligible for the Investigative Summer Science Program scholarship – a $1,000 award to those who attend the program and later enroll at Newman.

This year’s program drew students from four Wichita high schools, as well as Andover, Arrupe Jesuit, Centre, El Dorado, Eureka, Girard, Hayden, Horton, Iola, Maize, Maize South, Topeka, and Valley Center high schools.

Sophomore, junior and senior high school students with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and one completed high school science course are selected for the ISSP through an application process, which considers their high school transcript, a letter of recommendation, and a 200-word essay explaining their career goals and why they should be admitted to the ISSP.

For more information about the ISSP program, contact Singh at 316-942-4291 or via e-mail at [email protected]

2011 ISSP participants are listed by hometown and high school below.

Burdick, Kan.:
Theo Kassebaum (Centre H.S.)

Colwich, Kan.:
John David Leyba (Bishop Carroll H.S.)

El Dorado, Kan.:
Kristina Brown (El Dorado H.S.)

Eureka, Kan.:
Shay Zimmerman (Eureka H.S.)

Girard, Kan.:
Georgette Cindy Lee Searan (Girard H.S.)

Haysville, Kan.:
Robert Blaine Schmeidler (Campus H.S.)

Horton, Kan.:
Bryce Platt (Horton H.S.)

Iola, Kan.:
Tyler Shelby (Iola H.S.)

Maize, Kan.:
Sierra Madrigal (Maize South H.S.)
Summer Madrigal (Maize South H.S.)
Marissa Neises (Maize H.S.)

Overland Park, Kan.:
Austin Jacobson (Homeschool)

Topeka, Kan.:
Luke Smith (Hayden H.S.)
Taylor Nicole Smith (Topeka H.S.)

Valley Center, Kan.:
Ashley Guhr (Valley Center H.S.)

Wichita, Kan.:
Ileana Cepeda (Bishop Carroll H.S.)
Sam Kline (Maize H.S.)
Misha Nazir (Wichita Northeast Magnet H.S.)
Marissa Neises (Maize H.S.)
Robert (Bobby) Scharping (Andover H.S.)
Lauren Sinik (Wichita East H.S.)
Dina Vu (Wichita East H.S.)

Arvada, Colo.:
William Major (Arrupe Jesuit H.S.)