Newman University in Colorado Springs celebrates Spring 2013 Master of Social Work graduates

May 30, 2013

Twenty-three residents of Colorado Springs and surrounding areas received a Master of Social Work degree from Newman University. The university, which is based in Wichita, Kan., offers coursework leading to the MSW degree through its site in Colorado Springs, located at 2120 Hollowbrook Drive. The Spring 2013 graduates of the program were recognized at a celebration May 18 in Colorado Springs.

Spring 2013 graduates of the Newman University Master of Social Work program in Colorado Springs and faculty members pictured are, l-r: front row: Assistant Professor of Social Work and MSW Field Coordinator Terrie Cox Pauly, LCSW; Assistant Professor of Social Work JenniLei Powers Takemoto, Ph.D.; Roberta Garrett; Robin Wolfe; Gloria Jones; Maria Christina Mejia; Kaylin Pickerill; Cody West; Teresa Ornelas; second row: Associate Professor of Social Work and Colorado Springs Center Coordinator John Moragues, MSSW; Director of Social Work and Associate Professor of Social Work Kevin Brown, Ph.D.; Assistant Professor of Social Work and MSW Field Coordinator Barry Koch, Ph.D.; Keith Anderson; Victor Rubio Villanueva; Danielle Kaleita; Laura Nelson-Davies; Lauren Sanders; third row: Director of Alumni Relations Sarah Cundiff; Dean of Adult and Continuing Studies Audrey Curtis Hane, Ph.D.; Assistant Professor of Social Work Gloria Hegge, Ph.D.; Jennifer Hataway; Jackie Osman; Kimberly Simmons; Karen Daugherty; back row: Adjunct Faculty Larry Botnick, MSW; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Michael Austin, Ph.D.; Kinitra Wilkinson; Heather Wilson; Kate Reaka, Patricia Moynihan. Not pictured: Dennis Hiser, Jessica Mars, Lisa Staab.

The Newman MSW curriculum is designed to prepare social work professionals for leadership in direct family-centered social work practice. Classes are offered in a format that is designed to address the needs of working professionals. Instructional strategies incorporate a blend of classroom instruction, face-to-face activities, simulations, and field placements in community social service agencies.

The program is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) and graduates of the program are eligible for licensure as professional social workers through the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) in Colorado.

For more information on the Newman University MSW program, call 719-520-1214 or email [email protected], or visit

The Spring 2013 MSW graduates are listed below by hometown:

Colorado Springs, Colo.
Keith Anderson
Laura Davies
Jennifer Hataway
Dennis Hiser
Gloria Jones
Danielle Kalieta
Jessica Mars
Maria Christina Mejia
Patricia Moynihan
Teresa Ornelas
Jackie Osman
Kate Reaka
Victor Rubio Villanueva
Lauren Sanders
Kimberly Simmons
Lisa Staab
Cody West
Kinitra Wilkinson
Heather Wilson
Robin Wolfe

Fountain, Colo.
Karen Daugherty

Nucla, Colo.
Roberta Garrett

Pueblo, Colo.
Kaylin Pickerill