Newman University Music Department to present ‘A Night at the Royale’ spring musical production April 25-27

Apr 02, 2013

The Newman University Music Department will present an original musical, “A Night at the Royale,” as this year’s annual spring production. The show will begin at 7:30 p.m., April 25 through 27 in the Performance Hall of the De Mattias Fine Arts Center on the Newman University campus. The production will feature the Newman University Chorale and Troubadours.

A Night at the Royale“A Night at the Royale” is an original musical production written by Newman University Director of Music Deanne Zogleman and noted local actor, director and educator Dr. Phil Speary. The show is set in a dance club named the Club Royale, and takes place over several decades, showcasing music and dancing from the 1920s, ’40s swing music, ’70s and ’80s rock, jazz and current hits from today’s pop charts.

“Join us at the Club Royale and enjoy some of your favorite songs – there is something for everyone, young and old,” Zogleman said.

Admission at the door is $10 for adults and $5 for students (college and under). Newman University students are admitted free with a college ID. Tickets will be available at the door. The box office will open at 6:45 each evening.

Participating students in “A Night at the Royale” are listed below by hometown:

Andover, Kan.
Mark Riedl
Matt Riedl

Bel Aire, Kan.
Kelsey Gates

Chanute, Kan.
Tim Wrestler

Cheney, Kan.
Austin Durant
William Durant

Coldwater, Kan.
Patrick Fahrenbruch

Colwich, Kan.
John Denny
Adrienne Sigg
Emily Spexarth

Concordia, Kan.
Emily Hasch

Derby, Kan.
Alison Byrne
Austin Howell
Eric Mode

El Dorado, Kan.
Samantha Engels

Fairway, Kan.
Ian Ewing

Goddard, Kan.
Jessica Sponsel
Katlyn Vogts-Brown

Haven, Kan.
Kelsie Huffman

Kansas City, Kan.
Miguel Torres

Kingman, Kan.
Blake Boswell
Sara Mabe

Lincoln, Kan.
Avery Gronau

Newton, Kan.
Jessie Dilts
Francisco (Pancho) Fields
Mollie Schwabauer

Olathe, Kan.
Mark Carlson

Pratt, Kan.
Grace Fellhoelter
Ashton Lee

Tonganoxie, Kan.
Wesley Williams

Viola, Kan.
Andrea Pauly

Wichita, Kan.
Rebekah Baldridge
Josh Campbell
Katy Costello
Rubi Chamagua
Josh Cleland
Kelsey England
Katey Frahm
Kylee Gaston
Jacob Gillis
Cynthia Hamilton
Haley Hungate
Lucas Katzenmeier
Anna Le
Cuong Le
Korina O’Conner
Bree Pashman
Justin Ralph
Karlee Schliesman
Abigail Schmeidler
Emily Simon
Kara Simon
C.L. Smet
Colette Sponsel
Rachel Stanley
Laurie Stead
Alyssa Stopp
Alyssa Wellemeyer

Denver, Colo.
Shala Siceloff

Arnold, Mo.
Brittany Jonas

Lansing, Mich.
Andrea Lake

Blue Springs, Mo.
Maggie O’Neal
Mary O’Neal

St. Louis, Mo.
Brittany Jonas
Sunita Manu
Ray Williams

Oklahoma City, Okla.
Keri Windle

Carrollton, Texas
Victoria Kunhardt

Lewisville, Texas
Courtney Holbrook

Spring, Texas
Joe Molina

Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Megan Birdsey