Newman University Music Department to present ‘Broadway Bound’ April 26-28

Apr 11, 2012

The Newman University Music Department will present a spring musical theatrical production, “Broadway Bound,” at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday, April 26 – 28 in Performance Hall of the De Mattias Fine Arts Center on the Newman campus.

Co-written by Deanne Zogleman, director of the Newman University Music Department, and Phil Speary, well-known director and actor in the Wichita area, “Broadway Bound” is the story of a group of students heading to a performing arts school in New York and the year that ensues.

“This year, we decided to write a full-fledged musical versus a musical review,” Zogleman said. “I hope everyone will join us for two hours of great music and big dance numbers from current Broadway shows over the past few years such as Memphis, In The Heights, Little Mermaid, Spring Awakening, Rent, Thoroughly Modern Millie, and the new version of Godspell, taking Broadway by storm.”

Admission at the door is $10 for adults and $5 for students (college age and under). Newman University students are admitted free with a college ID. Tickets are available at the door and the box office will open at 6:45 p.m.

Participating students are listed below by hometown:

Andover, Kan.
Mark Riedl
Matt Riedl

Bel Aire, Kan.
Kelsey Gates
T.V. Nguyen

Benton, Kan.
Caleb McCormick

Cheney, Kan.
William Durant

Colwich, Kan.
Melissa Baalmann
Adrienne Sigg

Derby, Kan.
Eric Mode
Lyle Valentine

Goddard, Kan.
Jessica Sponsel

Goessel, Kan.
Raney Schroeder

Haven, Kan.
Jessie Huffman
Kelsie Huffman

Haysville, Kan.
Zoe Burke

Kansas City, Kan.
Miguel Torres

Kingman, Kan.
Blake Boswell

Murdock, Kan.
Jesolyn Trego

Newton, Kan.
Francisco (Pancho) Fields
Mollie Schwabauer

Pratt, Kan.
Ashton Lee

Viola, Kan.
Andrea Pauly

Wichita, Kan.
Rebekah Baldridge
Melanie Brockleman
Josh Campbell
Katy Costello
Cynthia Estrada
Patrick Fahrenbruch
Haley Hungate
Lucas Katzenmeier
Andrea Lake
Allison Lamm
Anna Le
Yamir Lozada
Genesis Morales
Bree Pashman
Kristi Ruge
Kara Simon
C.L. Smet
Rachel Stanley
Alyssa Stopp
Alyssa Trevino
Kaitlin Warnke
Alyssa Wellemeyer
Logan Winter

Arnold, Mo.
Brittany Jonas

Blue Springs, Mo.
Maggie O’Neal

St. Louis, Mo.
Ray Williams

Beatrice, Neb.
Katey Frahm

Midwest City, Okla.
Gisela Alas

Tulsa, Okla.
Brittany Griggs

Carrollton, Texas
Victoria Kunhardt

Dallas, Texas
Zaul Covarrubias

Lewisville, Texas
Courtney Holbrook

Bedfordshire, England
Megan Birdsey