Newman University Music, Theatre Departments present ‘Legally Blonde the Musical’ Nov. 20-23

Nov 06, 2014

The Newman University Music and Theatre Departments will present “Legally Blonde the Musical” for three evening performances and one matinee. The show will be performed at 8 p.m. Nov. 20, 21 and 22, and at 2 p.m. on Nov. 23. All performances will be in Performance Hall, inside the De Mattias Fine Arts Center on the Newman campus.

legally-blondeThe musical is based on the novel by Amanda Brown and the 2001 Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer motion picture. The show features music and lyrics by Laurence O’Keefe and Nell Benjamin, and book by Heather Hach. The Newman production is directed by producer of Signature Theatre in Wichita and award-winning actress and director Deb Campbell, with music direction and choreography by Newman Director of Music Deanne Zogleman.

The musical traces Harvard University’s beloved blonde Elle Woods, as she takes the stage by pink storm when she attends Harvard Law School. With the help of friends Paulette and Emmett, Elle quickly realizes her potential and sets out to prove herself to the world in this upbeat and energetic musical about self-discovery.

Tickets for all performances are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors, military, and Newman University faculty and staff, and $5 for students. Tickets may be purchased at the door before each performance.

Below is a list of cast members and ensemble players, with their respective hometowns:

Elle – Haley Hungate, Wichita
Margot – Brittany Jonas, Wichita
Serena – Rusty Carbaugh, Bartlesville, Okla.
Pilar – Alison Byrne, Derby, Kan.
Emmett – Justin Ralph, Wichita
Paulette – C.L. Smet, Wichita
Callahan – Mark Carlson, Olathe, Kan.
Warner – Josh Baalmann, Andale, Kan.
Vivienne – Mary O’Neal, Blue Springs, Mo.
Brooke – Sara Ast, Colwich, Kan.
Kyle – Trevor Farney, Wichita
Enid – Lauren Gardner, Derby, Kan.

Rose Bittle, Mulvane, Kan.
Jacob Gillis, Wichita
Jacob Hobbie, Clearwater, Kan.
Josie Gregory-Jenkins, London, UK
Ashton Lee, Pratt, Kan.
Brooke Kerschen, Cunningham, Kan.
Phil Paugh, Wichita
Monique Perales, Wichita
Matt Riedl, Andover, Kan.
Carlos Sanchez, North Richland Hill, Texas
Christina Scherer, Kechi, Kan.
Larry Shepherd, Belle Plaine, Kan.
Mary White, Wichita
Wesley Williams, Tonganoxie, Kan.