Newman University – Seward County Community College agreement offers scholarships, smoother transfer to four-year college

Jun 27, 2012

Newman University and Seward County Community College have created a dual-admissions agreement that includes a transfer scholarship for students who will continue their education at Newman upon graduation from SCCC.

The agreement allows SCCC students who graduate with either an associate of arts or associate of science degree to enter Newman with junior standing and all general education requirements completed, except for the theology and philosophy courses required of all Newman students. Students also receive a $3,000 scholarship per academic year beginning with their entrance into Newman.

The agreement also provides academic advising from both SCCC and Newman, to help give students a seamless transition. It also includes course-by-course articulation and degree audits from Newman so that students are assured they are on track with their degree plan.

“It allows students not to worry about transfer issues,” said Cynthia Rapp, Dean of Instruction at Seward County, “and allows them to continue their education in Kansas, since we are far away from any four-year Kansas university.”

Under the agreement, eligible SCCC students from all areas of study may come to Newman, although the program focuses on students interested in the Newman RN-to-BSN program, as well as degree completion and other programs at Newman designed primarily for adults. The RN-to-BSN program, which is designed for working registered nurses who wish to complete a four-year bachelor of science in nursing degree, is offered online. Other Newman programs including Business Studies are also available online. For more details, visit the Newman web site at

Newman University also offers scholarships to any student who completes an associate of arts or associate of science degree at a community college in Kansas. The award is $1,500 a year, and is renewable for a second year. Transfer students are also eligible for additional scholarships.

For more information, contact Newman Director of Financial Aid Charly Smith at 316-942-4291, ext. 2132, or [email protected].

About Newman University
Newman University is a Catholic, liberal arts university sponsored by the Adorers of the Blood of Christ for the purpose of empowering graduates to transform society. Named after Church leader and educator, John Henry Cardinal Newman, its primary focus is educating for life. Newman University provides for students the knowledge and skill to succeed personally and professionally, and nurtures an ethical and moral standard rooted in Judeo-Christian principles. For more information, visit

About Seward County Community College
Seward County Community College provides opportunities to improve and enhance each person’s life through a variety of higher education programs and related services for the development of better futures. The Learning Resource Center is both high-tech and student friendly; the Academic Achievement Center can arrange for free tutoring, college success seminars, and guided computer use. Math, reading, and writing classes are available to help you brush up on your skills. For more information, visit