Newman University Vantage staff members collect awards at Kansas conference

Apr 14, 2016

The Newman University student-run newspaper, The Vantage, came home with 24 awards from the Kansas Collegiate Media Conference April 7 -8.

The conference, held in downtown Wichita at the Drury Plaza Hotel, welcomes all two-year public colleges and four-year public and private universities in the state to participate in the two-day conference.

The event consists of keynote speakers, breakout meetings with professional reporters, editors and journalism professors and awards sessions. The Vantage competes against other private four-year schools in the area such as Baker University and Benedictine.

The Vantage staff’s 24 awards tied with its 2014 KCM showing for the most awards received in one year.

There were nine different staff members and editors that received awards, including first-place awards in the on-site copy editing contest, headline writing, special section, sports feature, sport news, investigative news, series writing, column writing, illustration and ad design.

2016 Vantage Awards:
Overall: Silver Medal

First Place:
On-site Copy Editing Competition – Kati Bush
Sports Features – Delaney Hiegert
Special Section – Kati Bush
Ad Design – Kati Bush
Series Writing – Kati Bush & Justin Ralph
Illustration – Cynthia Isabel Barragan
Column Writing – John Denny
Headline Writing – Delaney Hiegert
Sports News Writing – Delaney Hiegert

Second Place:
Headline Writing – Wesley Scott Williams

Third Place:
On-site Copy Editing Competition – Delaney Hiegert
Illustration – Cynthia Barragan
News Writing – Delaney Hiegert
News Photography – Hank Griggs
Headline Writing – Kati Bush

Honorable Mentions:
Headline Writing – John Denny
Feature Writing – Lauren Spencer
Sports News Writing – Courtney Sartin
Sports Photography – Hank Griggs
News Writing – Delaney Hiegert
Feature Writing – Ellen Healy
Sports Features – Delaney Hiegert
Front Page Design – Delaney Hiegert