Affirmations of the University – Vantage student newspaper staff garner 22 Kansas Collegiate Media awards

Apr 17, 2014

Staff members of The Vantage, the weekly student newspaper of Newman University, received a school record 22 individual awards at the Kansas Collegiate Media Spring Conference in Wichita April 13 and 14.

Matt Riedl received the Journalist of the Year award.
Matt Riedl received the Journalist of the Year award.

Vantage Editor-in-Chief Matt Riedl of Andover, Kan., also received the KCM Journalist of the Year Award in the four-year college newspaper division, earning the honor over all other four-year private and public schools in the state. His award included a $250 cash prize and a gold plaque.

The Vantage staffers earned a total of six first-place finishes, including Riedl in news writing, feature writing, sports feature writing and special section production, Kati Bush of Wichita in page design and special section, and John Denny of Colwich, Kan., in column writing.

The newspaper also received a silver medal for overall publication. The newly designed website,, received an honorable mention as well.

Riedl, Bush, Denny and photographer Max Pyle of McPherson, Kan., were present for the two days of the conference to represent Newman and accept the awards.

Kansas Collegiate Media is a college media organization designed to support and promote high academic and professional standards, support/promote the First Amendment, and support students and advisers involved in all forms of student media.

The awards received by Newman students are:

1st Place – News Writing – Matt Riedl
1st Place – Column Writing – John Denny
1st Place – Feature Writing – Matt Riedl
1st Place – Sports Feature Writing – Matt Riedl
1st Place – Page Design – Kati Bush
1st Place – Special Section – Matt Riedl and Kati Bush
2nd Place – Headline Writing – Kati Bush
2nd Place – Front Page Design – Matt Riedl and Kati Bush
2nd Place – Copy Editing – Matt Riedl
2nd Place – Infographics – Matt Riedl and John Denny
2nd Place – Review Writing – Emily Simon
3rd Place – Illustration – Brittany English
3rd Place – Sports News Writing – Matt Riedl
3rd Place – Sports Photography – Max Pyle
3rd Place – Audio Visual Multimedia – Matt Riedl, Joe Molina, Kati Bush and Max Pyle
3rd Place – Column Writing – Jessica Sponsel
3rd Place – Page Design – Matt Riedl and Kati Bush
3rd Place – Review Writing – C.L. Smet
Honorable Mention – Front Page Design – Matt Riedl, Kati Bush and John Denny
Honorable Mention – Sports News Writing – Matt Riedl
Honorable Mention – Review Writing – Kati Bush
Honorable Mention – Feature Writing – Kati Bush